Bye Bye Birdie

Bye Bye Birdie

Last night I let my dogs out to go to the bathroom and came across a small baby Dove not moving. Thankfully it was breathing with it’s eyes wide open. Naturally my dogs wanted to know all about this bird and getting them in the house to keep the bird safe was my first priority. As animal lovers we want to nurture and take care of animals but you have to be very careful when you come across a baby bird.

If you find a baby bird that has its feathers, eyes open, and away from the nest don’t assume it can fly. My little bird just looked a bit stunned as it sat there.

I knew that my husband and I shouldn’t pick up this bird with our hands so I hopped over to Wild Bird Sanctuary online to just double check the steps that we needed to take.

Here are the steps based on our situation.

  • If you find a baby bird that has feathers, its eyes are open, and is able to move away from you the best thing to do is leave it alone.  The parents will find it and continue to take care of it wherever it is. Baby birds do not leave the nest knowing how to fly.  Some birds can spend as many as 2 to 5 days on the ground before they can fly and the parents care and protect them and teach them vitals life skills during that time.
  • Do not take birds into captivity this denies them of the opportunity to learn skills they will need to survive in the wild that is unless the bird is injured.
  • If you can see the nest the bird fell out off pick up the bird with gloves and place it back in the nest. Don’t be worried if the parents take a few days to come back to the nest, they may be cautious about the disturbance.
  • If you cannot see the nest then create one out of a small basket or a plastic tub and attach it to a tree branch with tape.
  • Don’t attempt to feed the bird as it has a very specific diet.

You can find more detailed tips by going to the World Bird Sanctuary including what to do if you find an injured bird.

This morning I checked on the bird and it had actually got out of the nest that I made for it and it was sat on the table. This was a good sign. I didn’t let my dogs out to go to the bathroom as normal. We changed our routine so that I could keep the bird safe. The next time I checked on the bird the mummy bird was sat with her. Yay I can’t tell you how happy I was to see her with her baby. Periodically I kept going outside and the next time the baby was by itself, I assumed the mother was going to get food. An hour later and I couldn’t see either of the birds. After looking around I found them sat on top of my wall.  This made me really happy because I knew the baby bird could fly. The last time I checked the baby bird and the mom had moved over to the tree outside the fence and they were moving around just fine. I’m going to have to still be vigilant over the next few days and check my yard before I let my dogs out to go to the bathroom but it’s true what they say the parents come back, they know how to protect them, feed them, and teach them vital survival skills. I was thrilled that following the outlined steps listed on the Wild Bird Sanctuary site worked as they said they would.

So as I sit here I can see the mum and the baby on the other side of the fence nice and safe, and it’s a good feeling. For now I can say bye-bye birdie with a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

