Doing It Doga Style

Yoga plus dog equals Doga.  There’s nothing better than being able to exercise with your dog and being one with your dog.  Doga was created and written by Jennifer Brilliant a yoga instructor at Om Studio in New York. She incorporates asanas such as the Downward-Facing Dog to the relaxing Happy Puppy and restorative Pup’s Pose Within the book where each pose is demonstrated by one of the dogis.  The featured dogis in the book are Pi, Kessie, Harlem, Bennie, Buster, and Cricket. You will find breathing techniques such as the hot breath, or pant, and helpful tips on practicing with your own dogi. If you’re a  yogi and you own a dog you’ll delight in being able to harmonize the two.  This book would make a great gift for a dog loving yogi.

5 thoughts on “Doing It Doga Style

  1. I’m a yoga instructor myself so I love yoga anyway and I have tried some of the poses with my two dogs. I recommend working with one dog at a time though for maximum focus. Some yoga poses were inspired by dogs such as the downward dog and so I like how yoga is now giving back to dogs. It’s a fun book and just another great way to spend quality time with your dog. My dogs like it because we’re hanging out together.

    Like

  2. My experiece has been that while practicing “Doga” indoors is fun and relaxing for both dogs and humans, the most natural thing is to take your dogs on a long walk, or, even better, a hike in the hills, and save the Doa session for afterwards. As dog trainer Cesar Milan poins out, “Every cell in your dog’s body is crying out for a walk.” In Nature, dogs will walk for ten hours over hundreds of miles. My strong recomendation to yoga pactitioners is that wlkig your dogs comes first. Due to time constraints I often alk my dogs to an area where I can safely unleash them, and wile they play I do my own practice, using the dog leash as a yoga strap. After they play,the dogs relax and often join me. A relaxed dog makes a great prop for Supported Seated Wide Angle Pose and other seated poses!

    Like

  3. PS Some of the keys on my keyboard stick. The writer in me is compelled to post the above Comment again with the missing letters in caps:

    My experieNce has been that while practicing “Doga” indoors is fun and relaxing for both dogs and humans, the most natural thing is to take your dogs on a long walk, or, even better, a hike in the hills, and save the DoGa session for afterwards. As dog trainer Cesar Milan poins out, “Every cell in your dog’s body is crying out for a walk.” In Nature, dogs will walk for ten hours over hundreds of miles. My strong recomMendation to yoga pactitioners is that wAlkiNg your dogs comes first. Due to time constraints I often Walk my dogs to an area where I can safely unleash them, and wHile they play I do my own practice, using the dog leash as a yoga strap. After they play,the dogs relax and often join me. A relaxed dog makes a great prop for Supported Seated Wide Angle Pose and other seated poses!

    Like

Leave a Reply

